Seven GUSB trustee seats open for May election

Jamie Ausk Crisafulli
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Article Image Alt Text

Glendive Unified School Board member Paul Hopfauf’s resignation from the board announced at Monday night’s meeting put another school board seat on the ballot in May. The positions held by four of seven remaining members are also up for election.

With two rural seats left unfilled for years, there are seven positions available on the 10-seat GUSB board.

Hopfauf, who was appointed to the board in 2015 and has been elected for two terms, attributed his resignation to other responsibilities that will not allow him enough time to continue to serve on the GUSB.

“... my recent election as chair of the Montana Chamber of Commerce, placement on the Montana Chamber Foundation Board and involvement with their numerous committees will require a significant demand on my time as well as greatly increase my time traveling,” Hopfauf wrote in his resignation letter.

He added his responsibilities during the upcoming legislative session would cause him to miss school board meetings.

“I wish you all the best, remain an ardent supporter of (Glendive Public Schools) and believe a strong school system is the bedrock of any community,” Hopfauf wrote.

Hopfauf was the vice chairman of the GUSB. Trustee Lara Crighton was elected to fill the vice chairman spot Monday night.

Prior to Hopfauf’s resignation there were eight trustees on the GUSB and two open positions. The two open positions are rural seats representing the high school district and both have remained unfilled for numerous years.

Current members of the board are Kristine Mothershead, Lara Crighton, Cindy Dufner, Kevin Thompson, Kevin Pena, David Steinbron and Michael Ziegler.

Mothershead, Crighton and Dufner are at the end of threeyear terms and their positions are open this year.

Pena was appointed by the board in 2020 and his seat representing the high school from Dist. #3 (Deer Creek), will also be on the ballot. The Dist. #3 seat is a two-year term.

The board seat formerly held by Hopfauf is a one-year term.

The filing period for all school board positions in the county will remain open until March 25. The election is May 4. All candidates must file with the county elections office.

Reach Jamie Ausk Crisafulli at