Wrestlers earn 10th at Cowboy, Crisafulli earns 2nd Cowboy title

Ranger-review Staff
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Article Image Alt Text

Jamie Ausk Crisafulli photo

Dawson County High School senior Nelson Crisafulli takes on Shepherd’s Nate Gorham during the championship match at 170 pounds at the Cowboy Invitational on Saturday.

The Dawson County High School Red Devils wrestling team finished in 10th place out of 29 teams at the 62nd Annual Cowboy Invitational in Miles City over the weekend. DCHS senior Nelson Crisafulli won the event in his 170-pound weight class. This was Crisafulli’s second Cowboy Invitational title. He is the first wrestler in DCHS history to earn more than one first place finish at the event. He earned first place at 182 pounds his sophomore year. Crisafulli won his title match against Nate Gorham from Shepherd in sudden victory overtime. Senior Jacoby Mattern earned a fourth place finish at the Cowboy. Freshman Espyn Hostetler took sixth place. The wrestlers traveled to Circle Tuesday night. The DCHS wrestling team will compete in a dual in Sidney Thursday night between the two varsity basketball games. Girls basketball begins at 5 p.m., wrestling at 6:30 p.m. and boys basketball at 7:30 p.m., according to information from Sidney High School. The wrestlers weekend plans were up in the air with the cancellation of the Dickinson Invitational. Following are the results for wrestlers who scored points for the Red Devils in the varsity tournament:

103: Sheldon Rod (2-2) scored 7.0 team points.

Caleb Sarsland won by decision over Sheldon Rod (Dec 18-12) Rod won by fall over Cade Costello (Fall 0:31) Rod (won by fall over Caton Buckner (Hardin) 4-7 (Fall 0:47) Austin Wanner won by decision over Sheldon Rod (Dec 6-1)

126: Cody Harrington (1-2) scored 4.0 team points.

Drake Rhodes won by fall over Cody Harrington (Dawson County High School) 1-2 (Fall 4:58) Cody Harrington won by fall over Aden Winder (Fall 1:41) Tucker Strand won by major decision over Cody Harrington (MD 15-4)

138: Espyn Hostetler placed 6th and scored 17.0 team points.

Espyn Hostetlerwon by fall over Aaron Carver (Worland) 10-11 (Fall 4:24) Damian Leidholt won by decision over Espyn Hostetler (Dec 10-7) Espyn Hostetler won by fall over Brent Kelly (Fall 1:46) Hostetler won by fall over Chaim Hernandez (Fall 2:03) Hostetler (won by fall over Jaron Roberts (Fall 1:58) Espyn Hostetler won by decision over Garrett Sholley (Dec 7-2) Gentry Lamb won by fall over Espyn Hostetler (Fall 1:13) 5th Place Match - Ezra Weichmann won by fall over Espyn Hostetler (Fall 4:41) 152: Tommy Reske scored 4.5 team points. Wylee Lindeen won by fall over Tommy Reske (Fall 3:19) Reske won by tech fall over Dawson Thornberg(TF-1.5 3:55 (18-1)) Reske won by decision over Colby Coleman (Dec 4-0) Coltin Bernhart won in the ultimate tie breaker over Tommy Reske (UTB 4-3) 160: Jacoby Mattern (6-2) placed 4th and scored 20.0 team points. Jacoby Mattern won by fall over Kade Fitzgerald (Cody) 0-2 (Fall 1:14) Camden Johnson won by fall over Jacoby Mattern (Fall 2:54) Mattern won by fall over Seth Dennis (Fall 0:33) Mattern won by decision over Josh Rose (Dec 16-9) Jacoby Mattern on by major decision over Aaron Foster (MD 13-3) Mattern won by decision over Camden Johnson (Dec 6-5) Mattern won by major decision over Brenan Hager (MD 9-1) 3rd Place Match - Luke Goncalves won by decision over Jacoby Mattern (Dec 7-2)

170: Nelson Crisafulli (5-0) placed 1st and scored 32.0 team points.

Crisafulli won by fall over Solomon Hernandez (Fall 1:15) Crisafulli won by fall over Xercious Schick (Fall 2:43) Crisafulli won by fall over William Loveridge (Fall 1:21) Crisafulli won by fall over Nate Mcavoy (Fall 2:58) 1st Place Match - Nelson Crisafulli won in sudden victory - 1 over Nate Gorham (SV-1 3-1)

285: Kirby Basta scored 3.0 team points.

Tyler Harms won by fall over Kirby Basta (Fall 1:37) Basta won by fall over Trey Wright (Fall 3:52) Tyler Blaquiere won by fall over Kirby Basta 1-2 (Fall 1:00)